DOTTIE

Autore: GURNAH, Abdulrazak
Editore: BLOOMSBURY
ISBN: 9781526653468

12,49

Disponibile su ordinazione

COD: 9781526653468 Categorie: ,

Descrizione

By the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature

A searing tale of a young woman re-discovering her troubled family history and finding herself in the process.

In post-World War II England, 17-year-old Dottie Badoura Fatma Balfour knows nothing of her family origins, and little of their history ? or the abuse her ancestors suffered as they made their home in Britain. But Dottie knows what her family means to her, and in the wake of her mother’s death, she’s determined to keep the family together. She takes responsibility for her younger siblings, Sophie and Hudson.

But as Sophie drifts from man to man, and the confused Hudson is absorbed into a world of crime, Dottie is forced to consider her own needs. Feeling rootless in England, she seeks a space for herself and an identity through books and begins to clear a path through life. Gradually, Dottie gathers the confidence to take risks, to forge friendships and to challenge the labels that have been forced upon her.

For readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Zadie Smith, Dottie is a deeply compassionate portrait of a second generation immigrant, a masterful examination of poverty and racism, and a psychologically nuanced story of family and survival.